How to Survive: Moving In Together

So my girlfriend and I are moving in together.  I mean in an official “both names on the lease” way.  We pretty much live together anyway, and not seeing each other on a pretty daily basis makes us both really sad, so obviously living together is the solution.  (Plus, this means I get epic pit bull snuggles from her dog whenever I want!)

Here’s the kicker – we’re moving in nine days.  NINE.  DAYS.  I haven’t packed a thing.  I sorted through some stuff about a week ago and threw away a bunch of crap and then went back to playing Dragon Age writing papers and studying for finals.

Still… I have a lot of stuff, she doesn’t have as much stuff, and moving is creeping closer and closer, and I know it really bugs her that I haven’t really done anything proactive about this.  Without further ado, here’s a quick guide to surviving the big move!

Sort Your Shit

You HAVE to know what stuff you’re intending to take with you and what you’re going to get rid of.  Also, you have to know if you’re going to donate things to charity (clothing that you don’t like or doesn’t fit should fall into this category.  Old magazines you never read can be classified this way as well.  Your rock collection that you don’t actually care about?  Throw them in your garden!)  If you’re holding on to a stack of old bookmarks or notebooks from high school… Well, I would advocate setting them on fire in a safe situation, but I still don’t know what I’m doing with mine (Yeah, I have a stack of bookmarks – what?)

Pack Your Shit

No, really.  Even if it’s just throwing crap in boxes and maybe labeling them and maybe not, making your stuff portable is going to make everything easier.  If you leave out some clothing to wear for the next few days/week or so, and have a way to get those clothes from old digs to new, you’re set!  NO EXCUSES.

Stop Making Excuses

Yeah, I have finals coming up and I work a lot…. So?  I also have a buttload of free time that I tend to squander on silly things like playing Dragon Age.  It happens, it’s annoying, and I know I do it.  I don’t really have any good advice for this aside from “realize you’re wasting time and cut that out”.

Don’t Get Stressed

If you’re on the other end of this situation, and you have all your things ready to go and someone else is dragging their feet…. Step back a minute.  Take a deep breath, realize that this doesn’t mean this person is having second thoughts about living with you.  Try to figure out why this person is avoiding packing their things up.  For me, I just hate packing.  I hate the thought of sifting through all of my things, and because I come from a family of pack rats, I am genetically predisposed to not throw things away.  I have too much stuff and it’s scary going through it.  This might be a familiar story with someone you love.  Don’t freak out.

 

I mean… The other options are to not move in with this person, or to not move at all.  You could always do the packing yourself, right?  (“Dear girlfriend: please pack my stuff for me” is not exactly the greatest way to get things packed.)

Try not to leave things until the absolute last possible second.  I’ll let you know how well that works out for me.

Leave a Reply

