Starbucks Stalkery and Other Observations

Do you like people-watching?  Oh man, I do.  I could do it all day.  I have done it all day.  But that’s another story, this is about what I’m doing right now.

The problem with having a lot of friends who enjoy staying out late on Friday nights is that, if you get into town early in the morning (say, 7 AM via bus), you’re pretty much on your own for awhile.  This isn’t so bad, because I know where I am and how to get to quite a few places.  However, it also is really cold and early so there’s not a lot to do.  Did I mention it’s cold?

Cleveland is really conveniently located on a huge lake (Lake Erie, one of the Great Lakes), and the wind comes down off that lake, through the skyscraper-windtunnels, and everything is cold forever.  FROZEN CITY.  Seriously winters here pretty much suck worse than anything else.

The bright side is that the lady and I are huddled in a Starbucks, drinking warm coffee and sucking up free internets.  Because we can, and because it’s not a bus.  Oh, the bus…. Next time I’m making sure to buy plane tickets at least a month in advance.  There’s some really tasteful Christmas music playing; it’s the sort of oldies/standards that you hear every year, but sort of mellowed/prettied to the point where they’re almost unrecognizable.

I didn’t know until today that so many people come get coffee at Starbucks in full workout regalia.  Maybe that’s a Saturday morning thing, maybe it’s a Cleveland thing, maybe it’s a Starbucks thing.  I don’t know, I don’t usually go to Starbucks, much less hang out in them.  There’s an equal number of the business-clad crowd, and a few relatively casual humans drifting in and out too.  There’s even an adorable toddler girl in a green bunny hat with her dad.  They were playing with bubbles a minute ago.

What I’m really trying to say is that I wish I had bought plane tickets ages ago.  I really, really do regret that.  I think it would have been less stressful, both for the obvious lack of panic involved in planning this adventure, but also in terms of travel time.  We have to sit on buses for ages (seriously, spent about 10 hours on buses last night), and this completely eliminates the chance of doing anything on Sunday, because we have to make sure we catch a connecting bus so we can get home at some point because the lady has work Monday and I have school.

I’m really excited to be here seeing my friends, though, I just wish I had more time.  If you don’t want to turn out like me (JUST THIS ONCE), don’t do what I did.  YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Leave a Reply

