9 Kickass Queer Musicians

Okay, so I know my Hot Queer Ladies post included some bisexual and lesbian singers/musicians, but this is a post exclusively devoted to some of my favorites.  Why?  Because I promised you awesome things and if this isn’t a post full of awesome, then I should really just quit now.

Oh, Vanessa Carlton.  Seriously all I can think right now is “She looks good in that corset”.

I can’t call Joan Jett “the grandmother” of anything because I’m pretty sure she’d kick my ass.  BUT I can say she will rock the crap out of anything she touches.  Oh, and she’s way hotter than I could probably ever hope to be.  Sad, but mmm, Joan Jett.

I’m relatively certain the only way I could find Lady Gaga hotter is if she learned how to wear pants.  I’m not complaining, I just think she’d look cute in some baggy cargos or whatever.

She can only do one thing, and that’s be Lady Sovereign… She’s good at it.  Check her stuff out, if it doesn’t get you moving and probably giggling, you’re not human and there is no hope for you.

I’m usually appropriately suspicious of people with two first names, but I forgive Holly Miranda because 1, she’s gorgeous, 2, she’s talented, and 3, she covers Jeff Buckley.  Any arguments?  No?  Good.

Leisha Hailey is at the top of my list of People I Want To Be.  Why?  She’s an actor, songwriter, singer, bassist, and she was TOTALLY in those Yoplait commercials back in the day AND my favorite character on “The L Word”.  That’s why.

I’ll be the first to admit this woman scares the SHIT out of me.  Otep Shamaya is one of the most metal women ever, and she has some awesome music.  Also, she’s kind of badass.  By which I mean “approaching-Joan-Jett-levels-of-badassery”.  Her music is hard to get into but perfect for an angry day.  Try it.

And now we have Melissa Ferrick, who is one of those musicians you’ve probably heard in interviews with other lady musicians.  Why?  Because she’s been around for quite some time and is totally freaking awesome, that’s why.  And she’s still doing it, which is the important thing.

I saved the best for last, and here’s why: when I was a baby dyke in Cleveland Ohio, I went out to a gay club one night and, true story, helped her tear down her gear.  I was too young and she was too busy and we were being pushed out of the way by drunk clubbers.  She gave me a free CD and autographed it, hugged me and disappeared.  I found out a few years ago that this woman, Katie Reider, had passed away from a horribly rare tumor-related condition.  But pictures like the one above, and the memories of her being really gracious and nice to an obnoxious lonely kid in a club in Ohio are how I’m choosing to remember her, and that’s just another reason why I think she’s one incredibly kickass queer artist.  RIP Katie.

One Comment on “9 Kickass Queer Musicians”

  1. skylah1053 says:

    Great post. Thank you for the insight. Listening to Otep as I write this. She screams what I whisper.


Leave a Reply

